Journal Time

lulu in the Boundary Waters Canoe Area in MN

Lulu (BCM Peer Leader) in the Boundary Waters Canoe Area in Minnesota

Here’s a poem written during journal time by Lulu, a peer leader on one of our Boundary Waters Expeditions this summer:

Life is a battlefield filled with all of the ups and downs I have faced over my lifetime.  It feels like a canoe portage.  Never knowing how steep, how long, and what every obstacle that is put ahead of me will be like.  My life goal is to think of every challenge of my life as if I am doing a portage with a canoe.  I have no choice but to finish what I started, but I do have someone behind me to help me when I am about to fall.   My teammates are there to bridge my canoe.  A Bridger in the Boundary Waters is a supporter back home.  They are there to stand up and support me when I need it.

Lulu is currently an intern with the National Park Service, and came back as a peer leader in 2014 after going on her first expedition last year. Want to help? There are many ways you can help teens like Lulu:

  1. Volunteer to be a mentor in 2015
  2. Climb with us!
  3. Make a donation today

Thanks for all of your support this year!

 

Comments are closed.