Why I Climb: Candace Edmonston

I end up on our climbers’ fundraising pages all the time, checking their progress, seeing how everyone expresses why raising money for BCM is important to them. Every once in a while, someone’s writing catches my eye. When life got a little crazy for Candace Edmonston at the end of last year, as she put it:

“Instead of skydiving or spending a crazy week in Vegas, I signed up to climb one of the tallest mountains in the lower 48: Mt. Rainier.”

Candace, I like your style. Here’s her complete story on her fundraising page:

I’ve had the PC version of why I’m climbing Mt. Rainier up for some time and now I feel it’s time to let the cat out of the bag…

February is almost at an end and the new year has already brought on an exciting slew of new events.

In January I gained my freedom, moved to a beautiful new home one town over, have been cranking hard on my new projects at work and I can still fit into my jeans.  Life is good.  Or at least that is the sunny side way of looking at things…

After months of craziness dealing with the aftermath of my husband’s near-fatal motorcycle accident and having him follow through with a divorce anyway, I was spent. Exhausted to say the least.  I needed to do something for myself.  Something big… Maybe even something a little crazy.

Instead of skydiving or spending a crazy week in Vegas, I signed up to climb one of the tallest mountains in the lower 48: Mt. Rainier.

Why?  Well, why not?  It’s something I’ve never done before.  It’s going to require a ton of dedication, training, fundraising, mental anguish, I get to look at it almost everyday… That almost sounds like self torture. (hmmm…)  I’m hoping the reward with be worth it.  What will that reward will be?  I have no idea.  I might hate it, I might love it, either way it doesn’t matter.  I’m doing this for me.  I’m doing this because I choose to, because there is no one in my life anymore that will tell me I can’t.  This is an exercise of my own free will, a declaration of my freedom.

And then there is Sara and Tiffany.  Two of my best climber-girl pals are also going to be on this climb.  In fact it’s an all women’s summit attempt!  Which was originally Sara’s idea.  (If I wanted, I could blame all of this on these two.)  So, here we are… post disaster, still standing.  I’m actually happy.  And come August, I’ll be happy and standing on top of Mt. Rainier.  But I need help getting there…

This climb is going to benefit more than just my selfish desires.  We are climbing with an organization called “Summit for Someone.”  It’s an organization that hosts climbs on sixteen different peaks and raises funds for a non-profit called Big City Mountaineers.  The Big City Mountaineers takes inner-city and at-risk youth on week-long mentoring backpacking trips all over the country.  Have you ever been on a vacation that moved you?  Or remember a skill you learned at a sleep away camp?  It’s those types of experiences that are being made possible to kids who wouldn’t otherwise have access.

So, the other mountain I’m climbing is raising $4,000 to help get kids on trips like ones we’ve been privileged to go on in the past.  I’m the one who is going to get myself to the top of all 14,411 feet of Mt. Rainier, but I need your help reaching my goal of $4,000.

Since you are already here at my neat little profile page, please consider making a tax-deductible donation.  Every little bit helps and I am grateful for all of them!

-Brendan

Comments are closed.