Might as well do a 93-mile lap around Rainier before you climb it

Last summer, Jesse Hermreck raised money for Big City Mountaineers by bicycling from Wichita, Kan., all the way to the base of Pikes Peak in Colorado. Then he climbed to the Pikes Peak summit, having carried every calorie of food he ate the entire way, and finishing with a handful of snacks.

This year, he decided to sign up for Summit For Someone and climb Mount Rainier, and apparently he thought that wasn’t quite enough adventure. He called me a few weeks ago and let me know of his plan to hike the entire Wonderland Trail around the base of Rainier before showing up for his guided climb to the summit with Rainier Mountaineering, Inc.

Every time my phone rings and I see Jesse’s name on the caller ID, I smile and wonder what he’s cooking up (last week, he told me about his plan to ride his mountain bike up another Colorado 14er, Mount Antero, on July 4th). The Rainier idea might take the cake, though. As Jesse puts it:

This year my intent is to further shed light on human capability and to provide opportunity for others to do so by attempting to “one up” last years fundraising adventure.  This August 2010 I will attempt to hike around the base of Mt. Rainier in Washington State and then climb to its summit.  This event will culminate with over 100 miles of hiking and nearly 30,000 vertical feet of climbing.

The organization I am supporting with my fundraising efforts is called Big City Mountaineers, http://www.bigcitymountaineers.org. BCM is a well established 501(c)3 non-profit that draws under-resourced urban teens out of the city and immerses them in the natural beauty of the Rocky Mountains.  My goal is to raise $5,000 for BCM.  I am hoping my efforts will help raise awareness that young people today need to get outdoors and be active. I am a personal trainer here in Wichita and see the effects of under activity daily (obesity, diabetes, depression, etc.)  These fundraising endeavors are my attempt to provide for others the ability to participate in activities that change perspective.  Thank you for your support!

Oh, and for every $20 you donate to Jesse, you get a chance to win a $1000 gift card to the Bicycle X-Change in Wichita.

-Brendan

4 responses to “Might as well do a 93-mile lap around Rainier before you climb it

  1. Wow, that is amazing. I hope this guy is on my climb because I’m sure he’s inspiring and fun to hike with. Then again, he’ll make me look like a chump!

  2. Jesse Hermreck

    Just wanted to add a side note to this blog. Unlike my “Bike to Pikes” trip I will have the pleasure of being in the company of another SummitforSomeone participant during this endeavour! Kurt Hiss who is from Wichita, KS as well, will be attempting this with me.

  3. Jesse,

    I just want to commend you for finding a way to combine your passion for adventure with a good cause. A full hike of the Wonderland followed by a Summit is nothing to sneeze at, and you’ll have a great time doing both in August.

    If you’d like a little R&R afterwards we’d love to have you stay at one of our Ashford cabins. I don’t know if we still have openings the days you’ll be in town but we’d love to have you!

    -Kane from Three Bears Lodge

  4. Nice to see someone else doing this. In August ’08 I climbed the mtn. with friends, then ran/hiked the Wonderland Trail in 3 days. Lots of fun! Good luck. 🙂