Why I’m Climbing: Michael (Mick) Rule

We asked some of our Summit For Someone climbers to tell us why they chose to devote part of 2010 to raising money and training for a mountain climb to benefit Big City Mountaineers. We’ll be publishing their answers on our blog over a span of a few weeks. Want to share why you’re climbing? E-mail us at info@summitforsomeone.org.

Michael (Mick) Rule

Larkspur, CO

Grand Teton

I would have to say it started with my buddy Brendan, who works for BCM. I was impressed by the fact he turned down a job making twice as much to come to work here. The more we talked, the more I saw what a great thing BCM is. Getting some city kids out into the environment I love sounds like an awesome experience for them. I have always loved being outside, whether it is riding my bike, hiking with my dog Cassie, or following Brendan up a rock called Mt. Hayden in the Grand Canyon. Not to mention I work outside.

Of course the opportunity to climb the Grand Teton is a huge bonus.  I am pretty excited about that.  Although I am not sure just exactly how I am going to raise the necessary money, I am confident I will get it done. Next year I also hope to be a volunteer for BCM, as I really enjoy teenagers and getting to know them.

So, I guess I am climbing because a) I feel BCM is a great  organization, b) I get to help raise money for a great cause, c) the Grand Teton!!!, and d) at 51 I would like to give back and help some kids, both with fund raising and volunteering my time.

Comments are closed.