Andrew Goodwin: Why I’m Climbing

We asked some of our Summit For Someone climbers to tell us why they chose to devote part of 2010 raising money and training for a climb to benefit Big City Mountaineers. We’ll be publishing their answers on our blog over a span of a few weeks. Want to share why you’re climbing? E-mail info@summitforsomeone.org.

Andrew Goodwin
San Luis Obispo, California
Mount Shasta, Mount Rainier

After growing up in Cincinnati, Ohio, with a Sierra Club mother and a father whose heart resided on the wings of a Cessna, I threw myself into as much adventure, travel, and trouble as I possibly could. I had always been attracted to the wilderness and from a very early age I found myself camping and backpacking wherever I could get permission to go. After a couple trips in California, one in Colorado, a few in the Appalachian, and living in Europe, I found myself looking for higher and greater adventures. These adventures were great but my friend’s battle with cancer as well as my own cancer scare brought me a greater appreciation for what has been given to us. Therefore, I found Summit for Someone through a Backpacker Magazine and decided to give back because I once was one of the teens for which I now climb. I would not have the appreciation or passion for nature as I do today without the help from others who allowed me to see it through my own eyes.

One response to “Andrew Goodwin: Why I’m Climbing

  1. Way to go Andrew goodwin. There is immense power within us humans to change every poison of our life to medicine. best wishes