John Hamblin: Why I’m Climbing

We asked some of our Summit For Someone climbers to tell us why they chose to devote part of 2010 to raising money and training for a mountain climb to benefit Big City Mountaineers. We’ll be publishing their answers on our blog over a span of a few weeks. Want to share why you’re climbing? E-mail us at info@summitforsomeone.org.

John Hamblin
Gambrills, Maryland
Mount Hood

I guess it started last year when I convinced a friend of mine to go along with me to climb to the highest point in Maine. Instantly I was hooked. New Hampshire, Maryland, Delaware, North Carolina, and Pennsylvania soon followed. Most of those are very easy. I think it is time try a west coast mountain.

When thinking about what kind of improvement I could make in my life in 2010 and how I could benefit others, it occurred to me that I was a member of the Potomac Appalachian Trail club, American Hiking Society, DAN, Steamfitters Local 602, and the Masons, and did almost nothing for any of them. A fresh shipment of gear had arrived for my next outdoor adventure with a flyer inside referencing Summit For Someone. As if the clouds had parted and angels began to sing I quickly realized I could now do something great for our youth and it would really touch their lives. I could gain one more high point, and get the organizations I was already a member of to help. I must say through the training and the fund raising I have learned a great deal about the people around me and about myself. I am happy to be a part of such a fantastic endeavor.

One response to “John Hamblin: Why I’m Climbing

  1. I look forward to climbing Mt. Hood with you!!!!