Steven Wargo: Why I’m Climbing

We asked some of our Summit For Someone climbers to tell us why they chose to devote part of 2010 raising money and training for a climb to benefit Big City Mountaineers. We’ll be publishing their answers on our blog over a span of a few weeks. Want to share why you’re climbing? E-mail info@summitforsomeone.org.

Steven Wargo
Astoria, New York
Mount Whitney

I had been trying to do a Summit For Someone climb for several years ever since I first heard of it on a BACKPACKER Magazine project I had been working on. I am a sucker for good causes and I had always wanted to make the transition to Mountaineering. This seemed like a good way and I knew it was for me the second I heard of it. Projects like Summit for Someone are important. It is a clear obtainable goal that helps give focus to people who need it. Its the ultimate in a win-win situation. It gives clear focus to both the kids it benefits and to those that are climbing on their behalf . Youth or not we all need projects like this to keep ourselves on track. Mentoring kids in a wilderness setting will ensure that we have a future in our great outdoors as the confidence it will teach them will put its future in their hands. That is a goal worth climbing a mountain for any day! See you on the summit.

Comments are closed.