Fundraising: What about the economy?

Now that the election is over, it seems every headline I’ve read focuses on how bad things are: ‘Obama, Advisers Confront Financial Crisis’; ‘Obama, Economic Advisers Meet as Job Losses Soar’; ‘Federal Workers Feel Rudderless’; ‘GM, Ford Report Losses’ — and that’s just today’s Washington Post.

We’re told this is the biggest economic crisis in the past 100 years. That doesn’t mean things are going to be bad for the people we’re asking to donate to Summit For Someone. What it does mean is that things might get worse for a lot of the kids who participate in Big City Mountaineers’ programs. Their families are the ones who might not be able to deal with Mom or Dad having their hours cut at work, or losing their second job.

bcm-teens

None of the people I know are what I’d call “wealthy,” but there’s certainly a lot of privilege in my circle of friends and relatives. Most of us have health insurance, enough money to eat at a decent restaurant a couple times a week, enough money to pay someone to make us a cup of coffee. I hold a lot of faith in my friends, that even though economic times are “hard” (by American standards), they’ll do the right thing and help me out with $20, or $50, or even $100 when I ask them to take their money and give it to a bunch of kids who are trying to grow up without that same privilege.

Some of my friends may need more than one reminder, and some of them may need more than three reminders to go to my fundraising page and donate.

Regardless of who you voted for, I think we can all do better by embracing some version of “Yes We Can.” I’m going to do it, because BCM can do a lot with the money my friends really can spare, once they think about it.

My fundraising total, 10/28/08: $1250 (Thanks to Josh Barker, Lee Smith, Mick Rule and Jeremy Haskovec!)

Questions about Summit For Someone? E-mail brendan@bigcitymountaineers.org or call 303-271-9200, ext. 403.

Comments are closed.