The fundraising power of Facebook

If you’re on Facebook, you know that there’s a lot of pressure to come up with something witty for your “Status.” Usually, mine says something about where I’m going next weekend, such as

Brendan is going to climb Longs Peak under a semi-full moon Saturday night!

Brendan is going to Portland on Friday!

or something like

Brendan is officially growing his hair out.

Brendan is thinking about donuts.

The “Status” box is the Facebook world’s little window into your life. It lets everyone you know discover what you’re up to, or what you’re thinking. So, you know what, I’m thinking I need to raise some money for Summit For Someone.

On Monday afternoon, I changed my status to the following:

By the time I went to bed Monday night, I had $250 in new donations from Emily, a friend of mine from high school; Nick, a friend of mine from college, and Karin, a friend from an old job. They happened to be on Facebook and saw my status, clicked on the link and did the right thing: donated money to a good cause.

Fundraising total, 10/28/08: $700 (Thanks to Emily Roths, Nick Kremer and Karin Malchow!)

Questions about Summit For Someone? E-mail brendan@bigcitymountaineers.org or call 303-271-9200, ext. 403.

One response to “The fundraising power of Facebook

  1. Pingback: How I raised $3,600 in 16 weeks « Summit For Someone blog